Brewers Association Seats 2014 Board of Directors
Boulder, CO • February 26, 2014—Today, at a meeting in Boulder, Colo., the Brewers Association (BA)—the not-for-profit trade group dedicated to promoting and protecting America’s small and independent craft brewers—inaugurated its 2014 Board of Directors.
Led by Gary Fish of Deschutes Brewery, who succeeds Sam Calagione of Dogfish Head Craft Brewery as Chair, the Board provides strategic direction for the BA. Four board positions were added as a means to increase representation and participation from the BA’s growing and diverse membership, which comprises more than 1,900 U.S. brewery members, 40,000 members of the American Homebrewers Association, allied trade, beer wholesalers, craft beer retailers, individuals, and other associate members.
“As the Brewers Association’s governance has evolved, it is critical that the diversity of our growing membership continue to be represented and have a voice. Updating the Board structure and creating additional seats provides an opportunity for increased representation from some of our smallest packaging and brewpub members, while helping to assure that institutional experience and knowledge is passed on,” said Charlie Papazian, president, Brewers Association. “The support and guidance from our board members is crucial as we continue to groom and grow the flourishing craft brewing landscape.”
Brewers Association Board of Directors
The 2014 BA Board of Directors is made up of the following members:
Executive Committee
Chair – Gary Fish, Deschutes Brewery, Bend, OR
Vice Chair – Rob Tod, Allagash Brewing Co., Portland, ME
Past Chair – Sam Calagione, Dogfish Head Craft Brewery, Milton, DE
Secretary/Treasurer – Mark Edelson, Iron Hill Brewery & Restaurant, Wilmington, DE
Charlie Papazian, Brewers Association President
American Homebrewers Association Representative Board Members
Chris P. Frey, Saline, MI
Jake Keeler, St. Paul, MN

At-Large Board Members
Steve Bradt, Free State Brewing Co., Lawrence, KS
Steve Hindy, Brooklyn Brewery, Brooklyn, NY
Nick Matt, F.X. Matt Brewing Co., Utica, NY
Scott Metzger, Freetail Brewing Co., San Antonio, TX

Brewpub Representative Board Members
Larry Chase, Standing Stone Brewing Co., Ashland, OR
Mark Edelson, Iron Hill Brewery & Restaurant, Wilmington, DE
Cyrena Nouzille, Ladyface Ale Companie, Agoura Hills, CA
John Pinkerton, Moon River Brewing Co., Savannah, GA

Packaging Brewery Representative Board Members
Sam Calagione, Dogfish Head Craft Brewery, Milton, DE
Gary Fish, Deschutes Brewery, Bend, OR
Ken Grossman, Sierra Nevada Brewing Co., Chico, CA
Kim Jordan, New Belgium Brewing Co., Fort Collins, CO
John Mallett, Bell’s Brewery, Inc., Galesburg, MI
Rob Tod, Allagash Brewing, Portland, ME
Eric Wallace, Left Hand Brewing Co., Longmont, CO
“I am honored to be at the helm of such a dedicated and committed group that is eager to continue making great strides for the community of small and independent craft brewers across the country,” added Gary Fish.
The BA Board of Directors also has several standing committees that work with members and staff, focusing on specific areas to help achieve association goals. Committee chairs include:
AHA Governing—Jake Keeler
Brewpub—John Pinkerton
Communications—Chris P. Frey
Events—Steve Bradt
Executive—Gary Fish-Deschutes Brewery – Bend, Oregon
Export Development Program—Brett Joyce-Rogue Ales, Newport, Oregon
Finance—Mark Edelson
Governance—Steve Bradt
Government Affairs—Gary Fish, Deschutes Brewery, Bend, Oregon
Market Development Committee—Rob Tod, Fred Matt
Public Relations & Marketing—Kim Jordan
Technical—Ken Grossman, John Mallett